Call Now

Pune University

Updated on: Jan 28, 2013
"Yah Kriyaawan Sa Panditaha – Learned is the one who is ceaselessly active"
The Pune University started its journey of quenching the thirst of knowledge seekers from the year 1948. True to its guiding principle of searching for truth with a tolerant and humanistic approach, the University of Pune has come a long way to with 269 affiliated colleges and 46 departments offering academic courses to the aspirants. Apart from the regular courses, the university also provides adequate infrastructure for research programs to be conducted on various subjects like arts, science and commerce.

Located in Ganeshkhind Road, the Pune University sprawls over a vast area of 411 acres. The university owes its attractive setting to Shri. B.G.Kher who allocated the land in the year 1950. He was the Chief Minister and Education Minister of the Government of Bombay at that time.

The Pune University was established under the Poona University Act, which was passed by Bombay Legislature, in the 10th of February, 1948. The university began its journey with Dr. M. R. Jaykar, as its first Vice Chnacelor. With about 18 colleges under its umbrella and 8000 enrollments, in the year 1949, the university has traveled a long way with about 1, 70,000 students enrolled for various courses. The students are guided by 288 highly qualified teachers who churn out the best form the students.

At present the Vice Chancellors of the Pune University is Dr. Narendra Jadhav. Before him the university was headed by 18 Vice Chancellors all of whom have made tremendous contributions in taking the university to the zenith of success.

The jurisdiction of Pune University was spread across 12 districts located in West of Maharashtra, at the beginning. However, this has been reduced to three districts due to the establishment of more universities in the same region. Various colleges from Pune, Ahmednagar and Nasik District are affiliated to the Pune University like, All India Shri. Shivaji Memorial Society's College of Engineering, Chandraroop Dakale Jain College of Commerce, H.P.T. Arts and R.Y.K. Science College, R.N. Chandak Arts, J.D. Bytco Commerce and N.S. Chandak Science College.

The Pune University hostel facilities are available for outstation students, which come at various rates for the academic courses and research programs. While staying at the hostel the students are required to adhere to certain rules, which have been formed keeping in mind the benefit of the students.

Aspirants can apply online for admission to the University of Pune. All the information regarding the courses offered and fees structure need to be studied carefully before any application is made. The process is extremely user friendly and the students can easily complete the process in as less a time as 15 minutes. This process has been started from the year 2003 for making the entire application process simpler for the outstation students.

For further information related to Pune University, click on the links provided below:

Subscribe to our newsletter
Read Shambhavi's Diary
Follow her student adventures.